Day 2 – Favorite BL manga

In moments like this I remember that I know a bunch of BL titles mostly because they’re sitting in my ‘to-read’ section on MAL and that I haven’t actually read that many ><….

Drama aside though, I think I’ll go for Sairuiu for this one.

Sairuiu is a collection of 8 short stories, compiled into one manga volume. While there’s no overall grand plot that spans over several volumes, I really enjoyed the diverse situations and emotions portrayed in this volume. And unlike a lot of BL stories out there, these ones really felt like they could happen in everyday life. When it comes to BL, the genre (sadly) suffers from quite a heavy use of stereotypes across the board (from plot, to characters, you name it) so it was quite nice to read something more simple and down to earth for a change.

As a side note, I’m very tempted to add In these words here but that manga is still on-going. While I think it’s quite awesome, I can’t say with a clear conscience that it’s my favourite since I haven’t even read all of it yet ^^“. So yeah, for now I’m sticking to Sairuiu.

As always, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

