MaHo Café: Twelve Magical Days of Christmas 2015: Day 05 ~ Magic Tree House ~

マジック・ツリーハウス (Magic Tree House) is a 2011 anime film based on the American children’s series written by Mary Pope Osborne. It was directed by 錦織博 (Hiroshi Nishikori) and produced by the Ajia-do studio. The story follows Jack and Annie, two siblings, as they stumble upon a magic tree house filled with books. They soon figure out that they can time-travel to any place at any moment in time, but far from doing this for enjoyment only, they decide to help Morgan le Fay (an enchantress) regain her human form and magic abilities. I was actually impressed by how well the film turned out – I loved it! What did you think of it?

I really enjoyed the film as well! The idea behind it was easy enough to figure out, but that just made me even more eager to see where the siblings would end up next and what/who they’d face there. I guess what I’m trying to say is that it was really nice to see a genuine children’s story again.

I think what I loved the most was Annie’s attitude – she’s very open-minded (if not slightly reckless, but as a child, I suppose it’s ok) and optimistic. I also liked the pacing of the story and how they showed Jack’s inner conflict.

I agree. It was interesting to see how the siblings reacted to what they were experiencing, what with them being quite different to begin with. Oh, and I absolutely loved how Annie went around naming (and catching, whenever possible) all the animals they encountered.

Yup, yup, indeed. Just like the Magical Sisters Yoyo & Nene, this film too sends a powerful message: that magic doesn’t need incantations for happening, and what’s important is not to be alone and to believe. And I think it was this that pushed it quite high up on my favourite list. I think this is one of those little gems that one can enjoy with their family and friends, at any time.

And that does it for today’s post. We’ll leave you with the trailer – enjoy and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

