MaHo Café: Twelve Magical Days of Christmas 2015: Day 06 ~ Santa Company ~

Today’s anime, サンタ・カンパニー, was directed by Kenji Itoso (糸曽賢志) and produced by Nexus. This short film is about a trainee Tonttu, named Noel, who works in the Santa Company’s Gift Department.

One Christmas Eve, a child’s letter arrives in after all the Santas had departed; Noel and her friends (Mint, Bell, and Thomas) decide to deliver the gift even though they weren’t supposed to do that. During this journey, Noel learns what the most important thing is for Santa. So, what are your thoughts on it?

I quite liked the whole ‘finding out for yourself what the most important thing for a Santa is’ aspect of the story. I think it’s a nice way of reminding people what Christmas should really be about. I felt like they could’ve dedicated a bit of time to explaining some of the terms the story introduced (e.g., ‘Tonttu’ or ‘Mukku’), but at the end of the day that didn’t stop me from enjoying the story. What did you think of it?

Nah, for starters, I disagree with allocating more time to explaining terms. I mean, considering the length of the film, I think it was pretty well paced, and there was enough screen time for both characters and plot. It wouldn’t have been like this if they had started explaining the new terms. Everybody can realise what they refer to, and even if one doesn’t, it doesn’t matter, because whether or not one knows what those words mean, won’t have an impact on whether they love the film or not. As for the story as a whole, I really liked it. It’s a very short story where you do get a little character development and the plot is quite ok – I think it’s exactly the fact that it’s not over-complicated that allows it to deliver the message it was meant to: what is Christmas meant to do? What does Santa consider the most important aspect of his job? The shopkeeper said that the answer varies as each individual is unique, but its core is the same for everyone.

I don’t think the explaining would’ve taken that long, but I can definitely see how going with the flow of the story works for this particular case. Indeed, it’s not a big deal and doesn’t distract from the overall enjoyment of the anime. This was just something that crossed my mind as I was watching it and made me think that there might be more to the story than just the anime itself. That aside, I really liked the way in which one got ‘promoted’ to the position of Tonttu. While each apprentice had to find the answer to the question (similar to an exam), its discovery was left entirely up to said apprentice and, like you said, there is no set answer; this makes the whole experience all the more meaningful and profound once the apprentice actually finds their own answer. This is definitely a film for everyone to watch and be reminded of what Christmas is really about.

To be honest, yeah, one does get the feeling that there’s more to the story; I’d no idea that there was a novel and this anime was its sequel. I think I’d like to read it, as it’s a nice little story. On another note, the visuals were really nice, right?

Yupyup. And I dare say we both loved how they designed Rudolph III as well, huh? 😀

Yeah, I liked his personality even more, though. Aside from these, I don’t know why this short is underrated; I mean, it didn’t make me believe in Santa again, but it has a nice message and it’s really enjoyable, I’d say.

Maybe because it’s short? It’s great to have more of something you might like, and maybe for some people this anime wasn’t long enough. That said, I’d argue that the short length of the film adds to its charm. And as you said, it manages to deliver a nice message along with enough action to make things interesting.

I’d argue that length shouldn’t matter. Oh my, this didn’t come out right…

And on this note, have a wee lookie at the trailer. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

